ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 1567/23 - 2008 සැප්තැම්බර් 19 වැනි සිකුරාදා - 2008.09.19 No. 1567/23 - FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 19, 2008

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

L.D.B. 21/78.

THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

Order under Sub-section (1) of Section 27

BY virtue of the powers vested in me by Sub-section (1) of Section 27 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, I, Prof. Watareke Arachchilage Wiswa Warnapala, Minister of Higher Education, do by this Order, amend the Order made under Section 21 of the aforesaid Act, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission, and published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 281/7 of January 24, 1984, in relation to the University of Ruhuna, Sri Lanka, as amended from time to time, by the repeal of paragraphs (iv) and (v) of such Order along with all the entries contained in Column I and Column II immediately following such paragraph, and the substitution therefore of the following:-

- "(iv) assign to such University the following Faculties:-
 - (a) the Faculty of Agriculture;
 - (b) the Faculty of Engineering;
 - (c) the Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences and Technology;
 - (d) the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences;
 - (e) the Faculty of Management and Finance;
 - (f) the Faculty of Medicine; and
 - (g) the Faculty of Science; and
- (v) specify that each Faculty of such University, assigned to the University under paragraph (iv) and specified in Column I of the Schedule set out below, shall comprise the Departments of Study as are specified in the corresponding entries to each such Faculty in Column II:-

SCHEDULE

Column I	Column II
Faculty	Department
Faculty of Agriculture	 Department of Agricultural Biology. Department of Agricultural Economics Department of Agricultural Engineering Department of Animal Science Department of Crop Science Department of Food Science and Technology Department of Soil Science.
Faculty of Engineering	 Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering Department of Electrical and Information Enginerring Department of Inter-Disciplinary Studies Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences and Technology	 Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture Department of Limnology Department of Oceanography and Marine Geology.
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences	 Department of Economics Department of Geography Department of History and Archaeology Department of Pali and Buddhism Department of Sinhala Department of Sociology.
Faculty of Management and Finance	 Department of Accounting and Finance Department of Management and Entrepreneurship Department of Marketing
Faculty of Medicine	 Department of Anatomy Department of Biochemistry Department of Community Medicine Department of Forensic Medicine Department of Medicine Department of Microbiology Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department of Parasitology Department of Pathology Department of Paediatrics Department of Physiology Department of Physiology Department of Psychiatry Department of Surgery

SCHEDULE (Contd.)

Column I

Column II

Faculty

Department

Faculty of Science

- 1. Department of Botany
- 2. Department of Chemistry
- 3. Department of Computer Science
- 4. Department of Mathematics
- 5. Department of Physics
- 6. Department of Zoology.".

Prof. Watareke Arachchilage Wiswa Warnapala, Minister of Higher Education.

Ministry of Higher Education, No. 18, Ward Place, Colombo 07, 10th September, 2008.

10-191