

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2163/21 - 2020 පෙබරවාරි මස 19 වැනි බදාදා - 2020.02.19 No. 2163/21 - WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2020

(Published by Authority)

### PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

L.D.B.21/78 (XV) (A)

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

Order under Section 27(1) read with Section 21 and Section 139

BY virtue of the powers vested in me by Section 27(1) of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, I, Dr. Bandula Gunawardana, Minister of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission, do by this Order, amend the Schedule to the Order published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1518/15 of October 09, 2007 (as last amended by Order published in *Gazette Extraordinary*, No. 2139/12 of September 02, 2019), which specifies the Faculties and Departments of the University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka which is deemed by virtue of the provisions of section 139 of the aforesaid Act, to be a University established under section 21 of the said Act, as follows:-

(1) by the repeal of the item "Faculty of Arts" appearing in Column I of the Schedule and its corresponding entries in Column II thereof, and the substitution therefor of the following item and entries:-

Column I Column II

"Faculty of Arts

- 1. Department of Economics
- 2. Department of Geography
- 3. Department of Philosophy
- 4. Department of Linguistics and English
- 5. Department of Cristian and Islamic Civilization



(Contd.)

Column I

Column II

- 6. Department of Tamil
- 7. Department of History
- 8. Department of Education
- 9. Department of Fine Arts
- 10. Department of Political Science
- 11. Department of Sociology
- 12. Department of Dance (RAFA)\*
- 13. Department of Music (RAFA)\*
- 14. Department of Law
- 15. Department of English Language Teaching
- 16. Department of Media Studies
- 17. Department of Translation Studies
  - \* Ramanadan Academy of Fine Arts"; and
- (2) by the addition immediately after the entry "7. Department of Fisheries" appearing in Column II which corresponds to the item "Faculty of Science" appearing in Column I thereof of the following new entry:
  - "8. Department of Computer Science".

Dr. Bandula Gunawardana, Minister of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation.

Colombo, 18th February, 2020.

03- 131