

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2115/5 - 2019 මාර්තු මස 18 වැනි සඳුදා - 2019.03.18 No. 2115/5 - MONDAY, MARCH 18, 2019

(Published by Authority)

# PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

# **Government Notifications**

L.D.B 21/78(xv)

## THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

### **Order under Section 27(1)**

BY virtue of the powers vested in me by Section 27(1) of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, I, A. Ibathul Rauff Hakeem, Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission, do by this Order, amend the Schedule to the Order published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1518/15 of October 09, 2007 (as last amended by Order published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 2023/32 of June 14, 2017), which specifies the Faculties and Departments of the University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka which is deemed, by virtue of the provisions of Section 139 of the aforesaid Act, to be a University established under Section 21 of the said Act, as follows:

(1) by the substitution for the item "Faculty of Arts" appearing in Column I and its corresponding entries in Column II thereof, of the following:-

"Column I

Column II

Faculty of Arts

- 1. Department of Economics
- 2. Department of Geography
- 3. Department of Philosophy
- 4. Department of Linguistics and English
- 5. Department of Christian and Islamic Civilization
- 6. Department of Tamil



1A- PG 4433 — 518 (2019/03)

This Gazette Extraordinary can be downloaded from www.documents.gov.lk

(Contd.)

Column I

- Column II
- 7. Department of History
- 8. Department of Education
- 9. Department of Fine Arts
- 10. Department of Political Science
- 11. Department of Sociology
- 12. Department of Dance (RAFA)\*
- 13. Department of Music (RAFA)\*
- 14. Department of Law

\*Ramanathan Academy of Fine Arts;"; and

(2) by the addition immediately after the entry "Faculty of Technology" appearing in Column I and its corresponding entries in Column II thereof, of the following:-

"Column I

Faculty of Hindu Studies

Column II

- 1. Department of Hindu Civilization
- 2. Department of Saiva Siddhantha
- 3. Department of Sanskrit.".

A. IBATHUL RAUFF HAKEEM, Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education.

Colombo, 11th March, 2019.

04 - 04