

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතය අති විශෙෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2162/32 - 2020 පෙබරවාරි මස 13 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2020.02.13 No. 2162/32 - THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2020

(Published by Authority)

## PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

### **Government** Notifications

L.D.B. 21/78(XVI)(A)

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

ORDINANCE made by the University Grants Commission under Section 18 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978.

Secretary, University Grants Commission.

Colombo.

#### Ordinance

1. This Ordinance may be cited as the Postgraduate Institute of Archaeology (Amendment) Ordinance, No. 02 of 2020 and shall come into operation on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.

2. The Postgraduate Institute of Archaeology Ordinance, No. 2 of 1985, published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 382/6 of December 31, 1985 as last amended by Ordinance published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 909/13 of February 09, 1996 is hereby further amended by the repeal of paragraph 6 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following :-



#### 2A I කොටස : (I) ජෙදය - ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2020.02.13 PART I : SEC. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 13.02.2020

- "6. The Board of Management (hereinafter referred to as the "Board") shall be the academic and executive body of the Institute, and shall consist of -
- (a) the following ex-officio members, namely -
  - (i) the Director;
  - (ii) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Higher Education or his nominee ;
  - (iii) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Finance or his nominee ;
  - (iv) the Director General of Archaeology or his nominee ;
  - (v) the Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of Kelaniya ; and
  - (vi) the Dean of the Faculty of Commerce and Management Studies, University of Kelaniya ; and
- (b) seven members appointed by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as the "appointed members") from among persons who have rendered distinguished service in educational, professional, scientific or administrative spheres.".

02 - 578