

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්නික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 2293/22 - 2022 අගෝස්තු මස 16 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2022.08.16

No. 2293/22 - TUESDAY, AUGUST 16, 2022 (Published by Authority)

PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

L.D.B.21/78(XV)(B)

THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

Order under Section 27 (1) (a) read with Section 21 and Section 139

BY virtue of the powers vested in me by Section 27 (1) (a) of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978, I, A. D. Susil Premajayanth, Minister of Higher Education, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commission, do by this order, amend the Schedule to the Order published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1518/15 of October 09, 2007 (as amended from time to time) which specifies the Faculties and Departments of the University of Jaffna, Sri Lanka which is deemed, by virtue of the provisions of Section 139 of the aforesaid Act, to be a University established under Section 21 of the said Act, as follows:-

(1) by the addition immediately after the item "Faculty of Allied Health Sciences" appearing in Column I and its corresponding entries in Column II thereof, (specified in the Order published in the Gazette Extraordinary No. 2139/12 of September 02, 2019) of the following:-

> Column I Column II

"Sri Ponnambalam Ramanathan Faculty of Performing and 1. Department of Music

Visual Arts

- 2. Department of Instrumental Music
- 3. Department of Dance
- 4. Department of Painting
- 5. Department of Sculpture
- 6. Department of Drama and Theater Arts"; and



(2) by the repeal of the item "Faculty of Arts" appearing in Column I of the Schedule and its corresponding entries in Column II thereof, (specified in the Order published in the Gazette Extraordinary No. 2163/21 of February 19, 2020) and the substitution therefor of the following:-

Column I

"Faculty of Arts

Column II

- 1. Department of Economics
- 2. Department of Geography
- 3. Department of Philosophy
- 4. Department of Linguistics and English
- 5. Department of Christian and Islamic Civilization
- 6. Department of Tamil
- 7. Department of History
- 8. Department of Education
- 9. Department of Fine Arts
- 10. Department of Political Science
- 11. Department of Sociology
- 12. Department of Law
- 13. Department of English Language Teaching
- 14. Department of Media Studies
- 15. Department of Translation Studies".

A. D. SUSIL **P**REMAJAYANTH, Minister of Education.

Colombo, 16th August, 2022.

EOG 08-0138